How to Lock Facebook Profile on Mobile & PC
I really don’t care why you wanna keep your profile private. But thanks to Facebook for allowing us to take care of our privacy online. Especially when we talk about these giants’ social media platforms. I mean Facebook, with over 2 billion people around the globe.
Fortunately, in the latest update, the text (This profile is locked) is back. Luckily you will see a shield icon instead. However, don’t worry about it. Because there are still ways to follow the same thing.
There could be plenty of information on your profile. That is why you don’t want to let other people know about it. That is where the lock Facebook profile feature comes in handy. You can simply use or activate it on your profile, and your FB profile is private.
Locking down features is available but it’s a little tricky to find and enable. But it’s a great way for personal privacy protection. If you don’t wanna open your FB profile to the world but your friends only. This is a great way to do it.
Then you don’t need to worry about your privacy on your Facebook account anymore. When you lock down your Facebook profile, it does not matter on your PC, Android, or iOS device. It secures the profile and you have fair enough security for your profile. It actually stops people to see and react to posts, images, etc on it. Note: Please find the Update section below to lock your FB profile in 2022.
Table of Contents
How Profile Lock on Facebook Works
Right after when you enable the lock profile feature. People see a shield icon and not the text like This profile is locked. Though it makes your photos and posts more private in one single step. However, people, you don’t know and are not on your friend’s list. They won’t be able to see things like posts, photos, and related stuff. Have a look at these details also.
Your Profile Picture Protection: As I mentioned those who are not on your Facebook friends list won’t be able to see your profile photo. But they will a little see of the photo and This profile is locked message on the top of it. They also can’t like, share, comment, and do a similar activity on it.
Only Friendly are allowed: Only your FB friends in your friend’s list are allowed to do certain things such as likes, comments, shares, and similar things. This is only in case if post your postin your wall or other places are public.
Let us say your reactions and posts on your profile, your crisis response, blood donation posts, and other visible to public things.
If the Lock Profile option is Not Available
In the new Facebook update, Facebook has removed the lock profile settings when you go to your Profile > three dots button > Lock Profile, the option is no longer there. Fortunately, you can the almost a similar setup to lock your Facebook profile using the below settings in the privacy tools on Facebook. Here are the alternative settings you may wanna follow to do the same:
Lock Facebook Profile on PC
Before it was possible because there was an option to lock down your profile. But you can do it manually. Because that option is not anymore, it is gone. If you are using the old Facebook version then here is how to switch to the new Facebook design on your PC.
Remember there are two things you need to change in your settings that will lock your FB profile and make it completely private for others to interact and see things on it.
You can do it on both the Facebook app and PC. Also, don’t let others steal your profile picture by enabling the FB profile guard too. Now here is how to lock your Facebook profile on PC:
- Got to Settings on Facebook.
- Click Timeline and Tagging.
- Set options (as shown in the below images) to Only me, Off, and On.
- Now click Public Posts on the left.
- Set options 1,2, and 4 to Freinds.
- Have a look at the below images for your reference.
That is your profile on Facebook is fully secure and private. No stranger cannot follow you, can not comment on your posts, share and see photos, etc. If you are still confused then have a look at the below details that what you have done so far to lock down your FB profile:
No one can see each of your posts on your timeline on FB. Also, your friends won’t see what other posts and react to them. Now you are stopping people from seeing posts you are tagged in on your TL. You will review posts and allow them to not when someone tags you.
From now on your friends can follow you, see your news feed. Also, strangers are not allowed to react and see things in your timeline.
Only your friends can now comment on your every post. The posts include your reactions, photos, messages, status updates, and related stuff. Read Find Easily Your Facebook Profile URL or Page Link.
Your public profile information is not public anymore. You set the options to allow friends only to see your information on your Facebook profile. In short your privacy online is safe, you can always get back and change these back to the normal settings.
Update: How to Lock Your Profile on Facebook App
It is 2022, I have got a fresh Facebook update and noticed that they have added the Profile Locking option in the settings. You can enable it to lock your Facebook profile in 4 simple steps in 2022:
Open the latest Facebook app, then go to Menu. Tap Settings & Privacy then Settings and tap “Profile Locking” under the Audience and Visibility section. Tap the Lock your Profile button at the bottom and you are good to go. You will see a message that “You locked your profile”. Have a look at the below screenshots for your reference.
Lock Your Facebook Profile on Mobile
Similarly, you can do the same thing with your Facebook app for Android or iOS. The only difference is you just need to find the desired settings for it.
That is why you are here and I am gonna show you that right now. Note the same settings mentioned can follow on iOS devices too. Please follow these steps on your Facebook app to lock your profile or make it private:
- Go to Menu on the Facebook app.
- Tap Settings & Privacy then Settings.
- Tap Timeline and Tagging.
- Now set options (look at the below image) as to Only me, Off, and On.
- Go back and tap Public Posts.
- Set the options to Friends.
Remember to follow the above procedure (profile picture guard). That is what makes your profile picture and account more secure and private. Also, it will stop other people to steal it.
If you can’t find some settings on the FB app. Then you will need to do it using your PC as per the above-mentioned procedure.
What does it mean when a FB is locked?
If you can see someone in your Facebook friends with the “This profile is locked” option. It means that a person has activated the privacy guard or locked their profile. So only you and your friends on Facebook can post, photos and stories on your profile not public. The Profile Lock helps them make their account more private and secure.
How do I lock my FB profile from the public?
The old lock profile feature is back. You can simply go to the settings then tap the Profile Locking option on the Audience and Visibility tab. Tap the “Lock Your Profile” button and you are good to go. However, these settings are only available in the latest Facebook app in 2022. So make sure that your Facebook app is up to date.
Can you lock or hide your Facebook profile?
Yes, everything is possible on Facebook. You can hide your FB profile and messages too. Simply go to settings tweak the Privacy, Timeline, and Tagging as well as public posts settings.
So that is all guys, do let me know in the comment section below for more info or if you have any questions.