How to Restrict and Undo Restrict Messages on Messenger

0

The mighty Ignore Messages option has gone from Messenger. Fortunately, Meta has introduced the new Restrict feature in the Messenger app. The option was limited to the Facebook app and Facebook web. But now in the Latest Facebook Messenger update on June/02/2022, they have added the Restrict option in the Messenger App. When you add someone to the Restricted list on Messenger, you just limit sharing with them. Let me explain…

The feature is available on all Android and iOS devices. Though it is an amazing one, just like we have the Restrict on Instagram. This time we see the same on Facebook and Messenger too. The feature let you limit your sharing, and interactions, and gives you more privacy while being in touch with someone you don’t like (etc) at all. You are getting the point, let’s get to the details:

What is Restrict on Messenger?

The Restrict on Facebook Messenger is an alternative to Ignore Messages. It allows you to see less of a person on Messenger without blocking them. Restrict will let you move a chat out of sight (best for privacy) from the main Chat, and disable notifications for messages/calls. Also, hide your active status (when you were active) and you are independent to Unrestrict a person anytime you want. The best thing is they won’t know anything about what you have done to the conversation.

What is Restrict on Messenger?
What is Restrict on Messenger?

Don’t worry about your previously ignored chats. they are still available in the SPAM folder in the Settings. You can simply get over there and delete a chat.

What happens when you Restrict someone on Messenger?

Facebook Messenger has replaced the Ignore Messages with the Restrict option. The purpose of both is the same. However, if you wonder how the Restrict works and what happens when you add someone to the restricted list, Here’s everything you need to know:

  • When you Restrict or Unrestrict someone they don’t get a notification about it.
  • Moves the chat out of the sight.
  • Hide the chat from the main Chats list on Messenger.
  • You will see less of a person without blocking.
  • You don’t get notifications about their calls, message, etc.
  • It hides your activity (active status).
  • You guys won’t see each other active status.
  • Restricted people can’t see when you read their messages.
  • You cannot send a message to the Restricted person, you will need to Unrestrict first.
  • You can Unrestrict someone anytime you want.

Moreover, the feature works the same as Facebook and has the same purpose. Though the restrict feature on Messenger works independently. This means when you add someone to the restricted list on Facebook, the person is not restricted here on Messenger. If you wanna restrict a person on both Facebook and Messenger, you will need to do it on both apps separately.

How to Restrict messages on Messenger

The “Restrict” feature is available only in the latest Messenger. So make sure that you are using the latest Messenger app. Then follow these steps to restrict someone/messages on Messenger:

  1. Open the Messenger app.
  2. Tap and hold a conversation.
  3. Now tap the Restrict option.
  4. You will see a notification that “a person is restricted”.
How to Restrict messages on Messenger 2022
How to Restrict messages on Messenger 2022

Now you are good to go. For your information, the conversation is now available in the Restricted Account list in the Privacy Settings. You can go there and undo restrict Messages whenever you want. Don’t know how to do that? Follow me…

How to Unrestrict messages on Messenger 2022

When you restrict a conversation, After some time, you wanna start a conversation with the person. However, you can’t if the person is in the Restricted Accounts list on Messenger. You first need to undo restricted messages to start a chat. Here is how to Unrestrict messages on Messenger:

  1. Open the Messenger app.
  2. Tap your profile photo at the top left.
  3. Now Privacy.
  4.  Then tap Restricted Accounts, and open a chat.
  5. Finally, tap the Unrestrict button at the bottom.
How to Unrestrict messages on Messenger 2022
How to Undo restrict messages on Messenger 2022

Once done, you will see a notification that the “ABC Person is Unrestricted”. That is it, this is how easily you can do it. Moreover, the conversation will now be available on the main Chats list on Messenger. So you can easily tap to open it and start a chat if you would like to.

Alternative Method to Restrict a chat on Messenger

This is just in case, an alternative method to do the same. This method will help if you are in chat and wanna Restrict it without going back to the main Chats screen. Here are the easy steps to do so:

  1. Open a chat or conversation.
  2. Tap the info icon at the top right corner.
  3. Now tap the “Restrict” option under the Privacy section.
  4. You’ll see a pop-up notification that “Example is Restricted”.
Alternative Method to Restrict a chat on Messenger
Alternative Method to Restrict a chat on Messenger

Now that a chat is added to the Restricted Accounts list on Messenger. You cannot just find it or search for the conversation and Undo-Restrict the chat. However, you can go to the Settings, then Privacy, Restricted Accounts, Open that conversation, and tap the UNRESTRICT button at the bottom to undo or remove the restriction.

How to view Restricted messages on Messenger

It’s easy to find Restricted Accounts and read or see messages. Here’s how to do it: Open the Messenger app, then tap your profile picture at the top left. Tap the Privacy option and then “Restricted Accounts”. You will see all the conversations over there, tap to open one and see messages.

How to view Restricted messages on Messenger
How to view Restricted messages on Messenger

The above is the only method to view, see or read messages you have restricted before. There is no alternative method, you cannot find a restricted chat using the Search in Messenger. However, make sure that you are running the latest Facebook Messenger app to view those messages.

How to delete Restricted messages on Messenger

If you want to delete restricted chat or messages, you can do it easily. Apparently, there is no clear option to do so. However, there are options to get rid of restricted chat. Here is how to do it:

  1. In the Messenger app,
  2. Tap your profile picture at the top left,
  3. then tap Privacy under the “Preferences” section.
  4. Now tap Restricted Accounts and Open a conversation you want to delete.
  5. Tap the info icon at the top right,
  6. Tap the three vertical dots at the top right, and tap Delete Conversation.
How to delete Restricted messages on Messenger
How to delete Restricted messages on Messenger

Facebook Messenger will ask to confirm if you wanna get rid of the conversation. You will see a pop-up “‘Delete this entire conversation?” tap the DELETE option to confirm deleting that chat. Think before you delete the chat because once deleted, it cannot be undone.

That is it, you are good to go. Moreover, it doesn’t make any sense to get rid of such a chat. I don’t know when but you may need it in the future.

Can I Restrict a group chat on Messenger?

Wondering if you can Restrict a group chats on Facebook Messenger? Unfortunately, it is not possible yet. Because there is no option to restrict a group chat on Messenger. The feature is limited to a single conversation only.

Just like before, there was no option for ignoring group chats, and then they’ve added it. Similarly, we may see the “Restrict Group Chat” option in the Messenger upcoming updates. Hope to see it soon.

How to know if your messages are being restricted on Messenger?

When someone restricts you on Facebook Messenger, you will send messages but won’t get a response and read receipts. The person won’t get your calls and any notification about it. Also, you won’t be able to see someone’s active status. So if you don’t get read receipts for your messages for a long time, the person is not picking up your calls and you don’t his/her active status. Then consider your messages are being restricted on Messenger.

When you restrict someone, can they see if you are active?

When you restrict someone on Facebook Messenger, they cannot see your Active Status. Also, they won’t see when you were last active. Apart from that, restricted people on Messenger cannot see when you read their messages. In short, they don’t get read receipts when you see their old or new messages. Of course, you can check up on their new messages, but you don’t get notifications when restricted to someone. So you will need to manually check that in the Messenger > Settings > Privacy > Restricted Accounts.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.