How to Know if Someone Has Blocked You on Gmail
Gmail is a perfect web-based email service by Google. Thus it has tons of amazing features including blocking a user in your contacts list. Anyone can easily block a person to stop getting their unwanted emails etc. However, let’s think of an alternative way, what if someone has blocked you on Gmail? Now you may be wondering, how do I know that? This is exactly why you are here and luckily in the right place.
This article will show you the tips and tricks you need to find if anyone has blocked on Gmail. Because by default Gmail is not sending any report to the user. This means, that if someone has blocked you, you won’t know it, you are not getting an email report or notification from Gmail. The fact is you will need to find it out manually. Don’t worry it’s not a tough task anymore.
The short answer is: if someone on Gmail has blocked your email address, you will notice you may don’t see that person’s name in the chats, and contacts list at the left. That is a quick indicator, but to know things in-depth, read the full article. Moreover, you can fix several problems while not getting email on your Gmail. This means, that sometimes you may think that you are not getting email because you have been blocked. But in reality, there might be problems with Gmail itself.
Table of Contents
How to Know if Someone Has Blocked You on Gmail
There are multiple to find out if anyone in your address book has blocked your email address on Gmail. You can either your computer or PC and mobile phone to do so. Thus the choice is totally yours. I will show both these methods.
Method #1: Using Gmail on a PC
You can any computer with a web browser and an internet connection to know if someone has blocked your Gmail or not. Open a web browser using your MAC, Windows PC, or Linux computer. Then sign in to your Gmail account, and follow these steps:
- Login to your Gmail account.
- Then click the Hangout icon at the bottom left.
- Click the person’s name you think has blocked you.
- Now try sending him a message.
- If your message is delivered, then you are not blocked by the person.
- But if you this message “Message not delivered, because the person has blocked you”.
- Then it’s confirmed that you have been blocked by that person.
This is how you can do it on your PC if someone is on your contact list (Hangout chat list). However, mostly you may don’t talk to and don’t see that contact or email address in the chat list in the Hangout section. Still, you can find it out. In such a case, ignore the above steps and follow the below alternative method for doing so.
Alternatively, first of all, click the Hangout icon at the bottom left. if you don’t see any contact there in the Hangout chat list. Then try adding that contact first. Click the + sign right to your name. Then enter the person’s name, phone number, or email address. Click the Send Invite button. Now you will see the person on the chat list. Just click on that person’s profile name and try sending that person a message. If the message delivery is successful, you won’t a message like “Message not delivered, because the person has blocked you”. But once you see this message, then it is confirmed that you have been blocked on Gmail.
Method #2: Using your mobile phone
You can tell if someone has blocked Gmail using your mobile phone. There is no need to use your PC if you are on the go and want to confirm the thing. Thus there is the only thing you need to know. That is to download and install the Google Hangouts application by Google on your mobile phone. It’s available on iOS AppStore and PlayStore. Anyways, to tell if someone has blocked you, follow these steps:
- Download and install the Hangouts app.
- Open it and sign in with your Gmail account.
- Enter the email address of the person.
- Tap on his profile and try to send him a message.
- If you can send a message, you are blocked by the person.
- But if you can’t, then you will see the same message again “Message not delivered, because the person has blocked you”.
Moreover, you can also add a person to know if he has been blocked or not. Just tap the + sign at the bottom right. Select New conversation and type in the personal email address in the search at the top. Once you see his profile, invite him and then try to send him a message. Again if he has blocked then the message will deliver as normal. If not and the person has blocked you then you will that same message again. For example, failed to send the message or tap to retry sending the message.
Can you tell if you have been blocked on Gmail?
Yes, consider someone is there in your contacts at the bottom left where contacts appear as usual. Thus you are not seeing that contact anymore, in fact, it is not there, which clearly means that you have been blocked on Gmail. Moreover, you can use the above easily, add or invite them to Hangouts and they send him a message, if the message fails, that is a true sign that you have been blocked by that person on Gmail.
What happens after blocking someone on Gmail?
When you block an email address on Gmail, you won’t see messages or emails from that email address anymore. In short, those emails will go to the spam folder in your Gmail account. You may only wanna block those contacts you are getting hundreds of spammy emails daily. Nowadays, you may also get a notification in your Gmail like “Do you won’t stop getting emails or notifications from a specific person”, this is if someone is trying to spam your inbox with tons of unwanted emails daily.
Does a blocked sender know they are blocked?
Once you add someone’s email address to your blocked sender list. Then that person will never get a notification from Gmail or any other source. But there are ways the blocked sender can know they are blocked on Gmail from your side. They can use Chrome Extension to get read receipts to try to send you a message via hangouts, thus those messages will fail and the sender will get the idea that you have blocked him or her.
How to know if someone blocked you on Hangouts?
The easy and more convenient way to find this out is, to send that user a message. You may then see a notification that “Your message was not delivered because the receiver has blocked you”. If you did then it’s a confirming sign that you have been blocked on Google Hangouts.
Alternatively, you may wanna try sending that person a message. If your is not delivered yet and has not been seen/read for a long time. Then consider that you have been blocked on Hangouts. Possibly that person may have deleted his Google account.