Manage Contacts Sync on Facebook & Messenger

0

If you wanna find someone on your phone’s contacts list on Facebook. Then Contacts Sync is a great feature. However, you have options to enable the continuous phone contacts uploading and manage them e.g remove the uploaded contacts anytime from Facebook. Thanks to Facebook for such a great feature. But if you care about privacy online and/or using a private phone number, then you should not enable such settings in your Facebook account.

Moreover, you have the option to manage such settings everywhere. I mean you can enable and disable the continuous contacts sync on Facebook using Android, iOS devices, and PC. Though the regular Facebook version, Facebook lite on both Android and iOS devices has the same feature and you can manage contact uploading.

Keep in mind that Facebook will continuously upload your phone contacts into your account when the options are enabled. However, you can remove the list anytime you want. We have also explained everything to manage contacts sync on Instagram. Anyways, let get to know the procedure to enable and disable the contact Syncing on Facebook and Messenger apps.

How to Enable and Disable Contacts Sync on Facebook

There are serval methods you can follow to do so. Though you can do it on your mobile, using the Facebook regular and Facebook Lite versions. I am going to show you everything step by step for all these devices. Then you can choose the one method, that is easy for you. Now let’s get started…

Enable Contacts Sync on Facebook

To turn continuous contacts uploading or contact sync in the Facebook, follow these steps: Open the Facebook app, then tap the Menu three lines button. Tap Settings & Privacy then Settings. Scroll down on the Settings page, then tap Upload Contact under the Permission section. Enable the toggle next to the “Continue Contacts Upload” options. Facebook will start uploading your phone contacts to your account.

Enable Contacts Sync on Facebook
Enable Contacts Sync on Facebook

Disable Contacts Sync on Facebook

You can choose to stop Facebook from uploading your phone contacts anytime. To turn OFF continuous contacts uploading or contact sync in Facebook, follow these simple steps:

Open the Facebook app, Go to Menu (three lines button). Now tap Settings & Privacy then tap Settings. Scroll down, tap the “Upload Contact” option under the “Permission” section. Disable or turn off the toggle next to the “Continue Contacts Upload”. Facebook will now stop uploading your phone contacts.

Disable Contacts Sync on Facebook
Disable Contacts Sync on Facebook

Keep in mind that this action will also delete contacts that have already been uploaded to your account. You want it, go ahead and manually remove or delete them anytime. To delete or remove the uploaded contacts list from Facebook, follow this method:

Deleted Contacts You’ve Uploaded to Facebook

Once You enable the Contacts Sync feature, Facebook automatically starts uploading your phone contacts. Thus you can simply turn off the contact sync and it will auto-deleted that uploaded contacts. However, what if you wanna delete the full list yourself then turn off the feature? Don’t worry you can delete that full list of contacts you’ve uploaded to Facebook, all you need is:

Go to facebook.com and log in to your account using your PC. Then go to the Manage Contacts You’ve Uploaded section, as you can see the full list of the uploaded contacts over there. You can view the list and just delete all the contacts, click the “Delete All” button at the top of the list, done.

See or Delete Contacts You have Uploaded to Facebook
See or Delete Contacts You have Uploaded to Facebook

How to Manage Phone Contacts in Messenger

You can also manage your phone contacts in the Facebook Messenger app. You can choose to enable and disable the contact upload and delete the list of contacts you have uploaded to your Messenger account. Let get started with enabling the feature first:

Enable Contacts Upload in Messenger

You can enable the contacts to upload feature in Facebook and let the app sync your phone contacts continuously. Here is how to do it: Open the Messenger app, tap your profile photo at the top left, scroll down and tap “Phone Contacts”. Now tap the “Upload Contacts” option and enable the toggle over there. Messenger will continuously keep uploading your phone contacts to your account.

Turn on Contacts Sync in Messenger
Turn on Contacts Sync in Messenger

Disable Contacts Upload in Messenger

The choice is yours but you can disable the contacts to upload option in the Facebook Messenger app. This way you can stop Messenger from uploading your phone contacts to your account. Here is how to do disable contacts upload in Messenger:

Open the Messenger app, go to your profile (tap your profile photo at the top left). Now scroll down then tap “Phone Contacts”. Tap the “Upload Contacts” option, then tap disable the toggle over there, done. Messenger won’t be able to upload your phone contacts anymore.

Turn off Contacts Sync in Messenger
Turn off Contacts Sync in Messenger

Delete Phone Contacts in Messenger

You can delete all the contacts uploaded from your phone to your Messenger account. Here are the simple steps you need to follow: Open the Messenger app > tap your profile photo at the top left > Phone Contacts > Manage Contacts > Tap the “Delete All” button. That is how to easily you can get rid of the contacts you have uploaded to your Messenger account.

Delete all uploaded contacts in Messenger
Delete all uploaded contacts in Messenger

How to Stop Facebook from Syncing Contacts

You can stop Facebook from syncing contacts using these simple steps: Go to the Facebook app, then Menu (three lines at the top). Now tap Settings & Privacy > Settings > tap the “Upload Contacts” option under the “Permissions” section. Now disable the toggle you see next to “Continuous Contacts Sync”.

The above are the easy steps to stop From from syncing your phone contacts. However, note that this action will remove or delete the complete list of the uploaded contacts from your Facebook account. You can also manually delete that list, but if you don’t want to, then keep the Contacts Sync option enabled.

Stop Facebook Messenger from Syncing Contacts

You can disable the Contacts Upload in Messenger to stop it from syncing contacts. However, you can stop Messenger from contacts using these simple steps: Open the Messenger app on your device > Tap your profile photo at the top > Phone Contacts > Upload Contacts > Tap the Turn Off option.

This is exactly how to stop Facebook Messenger from uploading your contacts. Moreover, this may or may not remove the complete list of the uploaded contacts. Though you can manually delete the full list of the uploaded ones using the above-mentioned methods. Need more information? comment below.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.