How to Block and Unblock Someone on Messenger
Are you getting unwanted messages from people on Facebook Messenger? Do you want to stop them from sending messages and calls? Here’s how to block and unblock someone/people on Facebook Messenger with ease.
Please note that blocking someone on Facebook is different from blocking people on Messenger. People do change from time to time. Sometimes you must be connected with a person and would love to talk to each other. But it is possible that after a couple of weeks/days/months you don’t the event wanna hear his/her name. That is where this feature/tool comes in handy. However, you can easily ignore them on Messenger, instead of blocking them.
Table of Contents
What happens when you block someone
Whenever you block someone on Facebook Messenger, you guys are no longer connected. That individual can no longer send you text messages, calls, video calls, etc. Also, both of you can no longer see each other profiles on Messenger.
Note that if you guys have joined the same group on Messenger, you may still see each other messages in that group only. Yes, you won’t see that individual if the group admin removes him/her from the group. Other than that it is still possible to see each other in the same group even if you remove that contact on Messenger.
Also, note that blocking someone on only Messenger doesn’t block that individual on the entire FB platform. You definitely need to get rid of that person everywhere to not see him/her again.
Difference Between Facebook and Messenger Blocking
Facebook and Messenger are two different things when we talk about blocking features. Do you think that blocking someone on Messenger may result in the same on Facebook? You are wrong dear, both these apps are two different things.
On the blocking page of the Messenger app, you must see two different things that block messages and block on Facebook too. If you block someone on Messenger only, it means that you guys will be able to:
- See each other Facebook profiles
- Interact with each other comments and likes
- Mentioning and many more possible things on Facebook only.
However, if you block someone on Facebook too then you guys are completely gone away from each other on both Facebook and Messenger. Blocking somebody on Facebook means unfriending.
I may keep writing about the difference the whole day but the above-mentioned are the major things I thought you may need to know.
Can the blocked person send you a message on Facebook?
Nope and never the person you have blocked can send you any messages. Moreover, this is for both of you. Meaning, even you can no longer send that individual a message until you unblock him/her.
The conversation is still available until you delete it, but you should see a blue bar with “You can’t reply to this conversation” in the app. However, if you open that conversation in a browser on PC you should see that “This person isn’t available right now”.
How do you know if someone has blocked you?
Facebook doesn’t make it transparent if someone has just blocked you on Messenger. Facebook won’t inform anyone on blocking or ignoring. As per Facebook, it is just to keep things private (I don’t even understand what is it means).
When you open a conversation on Facebook Messenger and see “You can’t reply to this conversation” in the app or “This person isn’t available right now” on Messenger.com. It clearly means that someone has just blocked you on Messenger. Moreover, you may still see these kinds of notifications if somebody has deactivated their Facebook account.
Bonus tip: An alternative way to find out if an individual has been blocked is to ask a friend or use a fake profile and send him/her a message. If you or your friend can send the message, then listen to me very carefully – you have been blocked.
Can the blocked person call you?
Let me say, the answer is No again. For your information blocking people on Messenger is like you are complete will have no interaction with each other. Some users ask me a question on Quora, is it possible to call someone after blocking them just like WhatsApp? The answer is no and never, Messenger is not WhatsApp, right?
Does blocking someone removes a conversation
Never until you do it yourself. Facebook Messenger never removes a conversation even if you block or ignore someone. The entire conversation is still available to you and the person you have blocked. Both of you can read it even if it is a secret conversation. Note that ignore doest move that conversation to the hidden inbox on Messenger.
Can a blocked contact see my active status on Messenger?
The simple answer is NO. Both of you guys can no longer see each other active or online status on the Messenger platform. It is impossible for both parties. Moreover, there is an alternative way to keep an eye on the blocked person from 2nd or fake Facebook profile.
How to Block Someone on Messenger
Here is how to do it.
To block an individual on Facebook Messenger iOS or Android app, please follow these steps:
Step 1: Launch the Messenger app.
Step 2: Tap the info icon at the top right corner in a conversation.
Step 3: Now tap Block.
Step 4: Tap Block Messages from (name of the person) toggle on.
Step 5: Confirm the action by tapping on the BLOCK on the next popup.
Block Someone on Messenger.com
To block anyone on Facebook Messenger using Messenger.com, please follow these steps:
Step 1: Visit Messenger.com.
Step 2: As you can see all the conversations listed on the left side, click the three horizontal dots right to a conversation on hovering the cursor on it.
Step 3: Click Block Messages.
Step 4: The next popup window will appear and you must see Cancel or Block Messages, click on Block Messages to confirm.
How to Unblock Someone on Messenger
Sometimes you may change your mind and think to unblock the blocked person on Messenger. But the question of how you will do it? Don’t worry I am here to help, to unblock someone on Facebook Messenger please follow these steps:
Step 1: Launch the Messenger app.
Step 2: Tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
Step 3: Tap People then Blocked people and you will the blocked people list.
Step 4: Tap UNBLOCK right to a person’s name (you have blocked).
What happens when you unblock someone
Right when you unblock someone on Facebook Messenger, everything will go normal. Both of you guys can send each other messages, can call, and video calls. You can react and each other messages and use every single feature of Messenger to have fun with your friends again.